Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I started reading Jen Hatmaker’s book, 7, about a month ago. I only made it through the first couple of chapters before school started and all pleasure reading went out the drain. But those first 3-4 chapters were enough to convince me I needed to complete my own 7 challenge. So this month the challenge is food. I can only eat seven different items of food for the entire month. Adam is doing it with me because it would be way too hard to do it alone.

Our seven foods are: bison, eggs, kale, sweet potatoes, cauliflower (yucky), brussels sprouts, and apples.

I have also allowed 7 spices/condiments: cinnamon, garlic, salt, pepper, vinegar, parsley, and coconut oil (and/or butter, depending on the dish and because I don’t want it to go to waste). Do you know how HARD it would be to not have any spices?! So call me a cheater but I don’t care.

I choose the produce based on what is in season (fresher and cheaper) and the bison because of the many different cuts of meat you can get from a big ol’ buffalo. Eggs are purely for another source of protein.

Yesterday was our first day of the 7 challenge. I ate 3 boiled eggs over the course of the entire day as snacks. Lunch was a brussels sprouts and kale omelet. Dinner was a 3oz mini meatloaf muffin with a side of mashed cauliflower and sautéed kale.

Adam and I are so sick of those 7 foods already. Our bodies are in massive detox. And I am craving chocolate and coffee. But I am determined. I decided yesterday that this is a lesson in thankfulness. We have SO much food available to us at any given moment of any day and we aren’t nearly as grateful as we should be. So I am thankful God has allowed us to begin a crazy challenge about removing excess with 7 healthy foods. How awesome is He?

