Tags

,

Wednesday, January 2nd, 2013. Where did it go? Your guess is as good as mine. After our family festivities for Christmas and New Year’s Eve my wife and I returned to our humble home in south-central Kentucky. We had a grand time in the Music City but all good things must come to an end.

We arrived just in time to see the snowfall end. I felt so bad for my wife Lydia because she LOVES snow! She has not been able to see much of it in her lifetime and apparently one of her bucket list goals is to hit me with a snowball. Probably more than once. So much to her dismay and my relief we arrived as the snow began to quickly disappear.

There’s just something about walking in the door to your own home after a long trip. Even if you’re on a vacation, the moment you walk through that door it’s like a weight is lifted and you can breathe just a little easier. There’s nothing like being in that restful, safe place; the castle, the safe domain. I wish that everyone in the whole world could have that feeling (sadly some may never ever know that feeling).

So we came home and began life again. The anonymous day of January 2nd was filled with uneventful things like myself going back to work and the usual routine. Phone calls. Emails. Bills came in the mail. The process of unpacking began. It was nice to be back in the swing of things but it makes you pause, even for just a moment, to remember a glimpse of how nice the past week was.

I’m excited for the days ahead! My wife and I have been putting together our budget for the new year (she’s a whiz at it, seriously!). She also has begun packing away Christmas decorations and started in on redecorating (yet another area in which she is a whiz!). Oh yeah, and we picked up a 6′ Christmas tree for dirt cheap ($10) for next year! Thanks Wal-Mart!

2013-01-03_23-18-11_128(6′ tree not included in photo)

So the second day of 2013 was fairly un-memorable, but I guess in retrospect it was A-Okay.

Adam

