Tags

, , , ,

In the past week and a half I have watched two very famous movies for the first time ever in my life.

First, I watched Aladdin. Growing up I wasn’t allowed to watch Disney movies with magic…. so there are a quite a few Disney movies I’ve never seen. But even as child who had never seen Aladdin I knew the line, “A whooollle new world!” Of course, I only knew that from previews I’d seen on TV or other movies.

<iframe width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/sVxUUotm1P4?rel=0&#8243; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

The other movie I watched (again, never seen it before ever!) was Home Alone. I knew what it was and I knew from previews that he does some pretty funny stuff to some guys trying to rob his home. But what surprised me the most was how much of a storyline there actually is in the movie. I thought it would be all slap-stick.

<iframe width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/CK2Btk6Ybm0?rel=0&#8243; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

My favorite part of Home Alone was at the very end when he sees Old Man Marley reunite with his son. The church scene is pretty endearing too.

Adam loves watching “first” movies with me. Most of them were part of his childhood and there is nothing like a good childhood experience to bring warm memories and fuzzy, good feelings to the surface of your mind and heart. It makes me happy to see him happy.

Adam has had a few first too. When we watched It’s A Wonderful Life the other day he had never seen it all the way through. Yesterday we watched a Judy Garland film, In The Good Old Summertime. It’s one of the original “You’ve Got Mail” movies. You’ve Got Mail is probably my favorite movie of all time.

I grew up watching Gene Kelly, Frank Sinatra, and Judy Garland movies. I love them but they aren’t really Adam’s favorites. Any good relationship requires compromise and movies are a good area to put that compromise into action. We take turns picking out movies and do our best not to complain. 🙂

But most of all I am just very thankful for moments of “first” with my wonderful husband. Life is good.

