Tags

, , ,

Every couple months Adam has to write an article for the church newsletter so I thought I’d share his thoughts with you!

Philippians 2:3-4. “Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.”

Here’s a tough scripture. God is telling us through Paul, as he spoke to the church at Philippi, that we must not give in to our own selfish desires. That’s a tall order. Every morning we wake up. Our eyes open. We breathe our first breaths of the morning. Our feet hit the floor, and we’re off and running. Most mornings we probably do not stop to consider that it’s Jesus Christ who holds every particle of
everything together, like the Bible says in Colossians 1:15-17. We jump up, we shower, we drink our coffee, and we rush off to fulfill our calendar obligations. If life is taken at face value, where our sole purpose is to do and to be, then this way of operating is completely normal and good in every way. But if we consider that we’re to do ALL things as unto the Lord, with HIS glory as our sole purpose, than
we must reconsider how we live our lives (Col. 3:17). If we’re to glorify God in all things this means we must raise our own standard of living. We must live in such a way that Christ is seen in our actions and in our words; in our love. If we were honest with ourselves, how often do we act or react in rivalry and conceit? Webster’s dictionary defines conceit as excessive appreciation of one’s own worth or virtue. This may sound “conceited” but isn’t this really how we act most of the time; as if we excessively appreciate ourselves and our own worth? The Bible says that we’re not to act this way. We’re to do all things in humility, valuing other people over ourselves. We should even go out of our way to make sure
the interests of others have precedent over our own interests. So what does this have to do with music you may ask? I, as a selfish human being, would love to only sing and play the music that I love, that I appreciate, and that emotionally touches me. But as a Christian, who is called by God to be humble and to consider others more than myself, I realize that I must be much more attentive to the needs and best interests of others than my own desires. I pray for God’s guidance when considering how to use our music to glorify Him, and I ask that you also would join me in prayer for our church body. Please pray along with me that not only would God be glorified through our musical service to Him, but also through our daily lives, as we consider others interests over our own.

July 2012

