Tags

, , , , , ,

Sonic is right down the street. It’s easy, convenient, and super fast when we are in a hurry to get to work but haven’t had breakfast and I need to eat breakfast and have a cup of coffee or I get grumpy! So in the past week we’ve probably had Sonic breakfast burritos 2-3 times. The cost and the calories add up! Not that I count calories….I just know they are packed with them!

So this past week I spent some time researching if I could freeze eggs. My thought was that if I could, then I would make my own breakfast burritos and it would be not only cheaper, but healthier for us. Everything I read said you can freeze eggs but they won’t taste very good or you can freeze them in stuff like casseroles or burritos and they’ll be fine. Nothing very decisive stood out to me as to whether or not it’s a good idea. So I decided to try it anyways!

Here are my homemade breakfast burritos:

  • 1 pk of lean ground turkey
  • 8 eggs
  • 1 cup of mozzarella cheese
  • half a bag of kale
  • whole wheat tortillas (at 71 calories for each tortilla)

I cooked everything and then mixed in a big bowl, slapped a bit of the mixture on a tortilla, rolled it up, wrapped in wax paper and stuck in a ziploc bag.

I’ll let you know how they turn out tomorrow!

